Meet NYSIR's President

NYSIR President Deborah Heppes is Assistant Superintendent for Finance at Orange-Ulster BOCES, where she serves as a member of the Administrative Cabinet and is responsible for the supervision of business operations, management services, and budget development and management. She has served on the NYSIR Board of Governors since 2013, and before becoming president sat on the reciprocal’s Executive Committee as the organization’s First Vice President.

Prior to coming to Orange-Ulster BOCES, Heppes worked for Goshen Central School District and the Port Jervis City School District. She also currently serves as an Adjunct Professor at SUNY New Paltz, where she teaches Finance and Revenue Management in the Graduate Program.

A member of the New York State Association of School Business Officials, Heppes earned a Bachelor's Degree in Finance from Mount Saint Mary’s College in Emmitsburg, Maryland, as well as a Master’s Degree in Educational Administration and a Certificate of Advanced Study in School Business Administration from SUNY New Paltz. Additionally, she is enrolled in Manhattanville College’s Educational Leadership Doctoral Program.


Past NYSIR Presidents

2019-2020Eric StarkCarmel Central School District
2018-2019  Stephen Lunden, Ph.D.  Cheektowaga-Maryvale UFSD
2017-2018 Richard Linden New Paltz CSD
William J. Furlong
North Colonie CSD
Carleen Millsaps
Nyack UFSD
John J. Staiger, Jr.
Tarrytown UFSD
Kurt Jaeger
Saratoga Springs SD
2012-2013 Peter Weber, Ph.D.
Hewlett Woodmere UFSD
2011-2012 Peter Weber, Ph.D.
Hewlett Woodmere UFSD
2010-2011 Robert Libby
Cohoes CSD
2009-2010 Mark Betz
Bedford CSD
2008-2009 Kimberly Bucci
Rye Neck UFSD
2007-2008 James Fichera
Webster CSD
2006-2007 James Fichera
Webster CSD
2005-2006 John Belmonte
Sayville UFSD
2004-2005 Michael Senno
Elmsford UFSD
2003-2004 Richard Hirt
Locust Valley CSD
2002-2003 Roberta Zampolin
Nyack UFSD
2001-2002 Daniel Laub
Elwood UFSD
2000-2001 Edwin Groshans
Great Neck UFSD
1999-2000 Kenneth Smith
Briarcliff Manor UFSD
1998-1999 Richard Mueller
Brewster CSD
1997-1998 Vincent Quartararo
Rye City SD
1996-1997 Daniel Laub
Elwood UFSD
1995-1996 James B. Johnston
East Ramapo CSD
1994-1995 Edwin Groshans
Great Neck UFSD
1993-1994 Richard Mueller
Brewster CSD
1992-1993 Richard Schleiter
Scarsdale UFSD
1991-1992 Peter Weber
Lawrence UFSD
1990-1991 James B. Johnston
East Ramapo CSD
1989-1990 James B. Johnston
East Ramapo CSD

This company was issued a secure
rating by the A.M. Best Company, click
for additional details.

800-IS-NYSIR (800-476-9747)

333 Earle Ovington Blvd.,
Suite 905, Uniondale, NY