2013 Scholarships Awarded

Eleven high school seniors from across New York were awarded a total of $38,000 in scholarships this year by the New York Schools Insurance Foundation.

NYSIR’s Annual Cristin Ann Bambino and Paul Jensen Memorial Scholarships – given to students who graduate from high schools in districts belonging to the New York Schools Insurance Reciprocal (NYSIR) – are funded by the reciprocal and nearly 20 other New York State business organizations.

The Bambino Scholarship, in memory of the daughter of NYSIR Risk Management Director Robert Bambino, is awarded to special education students for their outstanding efforts in working through challenges to complete high school and be accepted at a college or university. The Jensen Scholarship, in memory of Paul Jensen, a NYSIR marketing representative known for his craftsmanship, is presented to college-bound students who have demonstrated inspired imaginations and creative aesthetics during their high school careers.

The 2013 Bambino Scholarship recipients and their awards were:

  • Carlo Balsamo, Rye Neck High School, $5,000 (Grand Winner, Lower Hudson Valley region)
  • Felicia Barber, Ardsley High School, $3,000 (Lower Hudson Valley region)
  • Brandon Brulé, Westhampton Beach High School, $4,000 (Runner-up, Suffolk County)
  • Dominique DiPietro, Newburgh Free Academy, $3,000 (Mid-Hudson Valley Region)
  • Sam Katz, Oceanside High School, $3,000 (Nassau County)
  • Shannon Moloney, Roy C. Ketcham High School, $3,000 (Mid-Hudson Valley region)
  • Michael Musolino Jr., Oneida High School, $3,000 (Rochester/Syracuse area)
  • Elizabeth Parker, Hugh C. Williams High School, $3,000 (North Country)
  • Kasey Stover, Starpoint High School, $3,000 (Greater Buffalo area)

The nine winners were selected from 263 applicants.

The two recipients of the 2013 Jensen Award, selected from 80 applicants, were:

  • Gary Ellis, Schalmont High School, $5,000 Grand Winner, Capital District)
  • Charles Verbeck, Sayville High School, $3,000 (Suffolk County)

Besides NYSIR, NYSIR Foundation scholarship sponsors include: Adirondack Community Trust; CBIZ; Daniel J. Hannon & Associates; Leo Driscoll; Eastern Shore Associates; Fort Orange Claims Service, Inc.; Gleason, Dunn, Walsh & O’Shea; Guy Carpenter; Henderson & Brennan; Holborn Corporation; Hurwitz & Fine, P.C.; Lemire Johnson, LLC; Morrison Engineering, PC; Public Financial Management; Tarshis, Catania, Liberth, Mahon & Milligram, PLLC; Towne, Ryan & Partners, PC; Travelers; Webster Szanyi, LLP; and Wright Risk Management Company, LLC.

This company was issued a secure
rating by the A.M. Best Company, click
for additional details.

800-IS-NYSIR (800-476-9747)

333 Earle Ovington Blvd.,
Suite 905, Uniondale, NY